About our Commencement Speaker

Katelyn Atakturk, MS



Katy Atakturk grew up in Redmond, WA and graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Geology from the University of Washington in 2012. As an undergraduate, she was one of the first student dog handlers for the University's Live Mascot, Dubs (I) and has fond memories of walking him through Johnson Hall during her class breaks. She was heavily involved in the department as the GeoClub President, an undergraduate TA, and a team member in Dr. Kate Huntington's research group. After graduating, she attended the University of Texas at Austin from 2012 to 2014 where she studied metamorphic core complexes of western Turkey and received a Master of Science degree in Geology. Through field trips and studying abroad, her love of geology brought her to a variety of exotic locations around the world such as Svalbard, Spain, Finland, Sweden, Turkey, Greece, and much of Central and South America.

Outside of academia, Katy interned at Hess Corporation and began her early career right after graduate school as an Exploration Geologist in Houston, TX. She worked a diverse set of global basins from the Equatorial Guinean slope deposits in West Africa to the frontier basin of Guyana in South America. She attributes much of her professional success to her ability to integrate people and ideas across disciplines and within teams. Her skill set became a valuable asset that allowed her to pivot her career as she chose to move back to Seattle in 2017 and pursue work as an Environmental Geologist. Katy currently works at GeoEngineers managing sediment cleanup projects along the Puget Sound coastal region spending much of her time collaborating with engineers and scientists to improve the environmental health of the Pacific Northwest.

The College of the Environment Honors New Graduates

In appreciation of the 2019 College of the Environment graduating class, the College is partnering with the Campus Sustainability Fund to help fund the UW Anaerobic Digester at the University District Food Bank, which will use food waste to create compost and natural gas, reducing carbon emissions from disposal trucks as less food waste is hauled away, improving soil health by producing compost, and serving as a small-scale model of renewable energy generation from food waste. Recognizing our students are the next generation of leaders in environmental science and decision-making, we believe this is a contribution that showcases our collective commitment to the sustainability and the well-being of our campus, our community and our planet.

The University of Washington

Department of Earth and Space Sciences



Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, June 15, 2019 Husky Union Building Lyceum (Room 160) 9:15 AM

Program

Dean's Welcome Professor Lisa Graumlich

Dean, College of the Environment

Chair's Welcome Professor Ken Creager

Chair, Earth and Space Sciences

Guest Speaker Katelyn Atakturk, MS

Earth and Space Sciences Alum

A Graduate Student Perspective Dr. Julia R. Kelson

ESS Graduate Student

Conferral of Graduate Degrees Professor David Catling &

ESS Faculty Members

An Undergraduate Student Perspective Tyler James Valentine

ESS Undergraduate Student

Undergraduate Slide Show ESS GeoClub

ESS Undergraduate Students

Conferral of Undergraduate Degrees Professor Gerard Roe

Professor, Earth and Space Sciences

Doctor of Philosophy

Aaron W. Brewer Laura M. Kehrl Steven F. Sholes

Kelley A. Hall Julia R. Kelson Michael D. Turzewski

Sarah A. Harbert Michael A. Kipp Hao Zheng

Trevor R. Hillebrand Joshua Krissansen-Totton Ling Zheng

David A. Lilien

Master of Science

Mary Alice Kipp Benson Virginia Heidi Littell Morgan Elise Simon

Eric Dunham Kristen Marohl Aleksander Srebro

Ethan Daniel Guzek Jana Meixnerova Varqa Tavangar

Hannah Karlsson Austin Tyler Rains Elizabeth Wratten

Nancy Ann Sackman

Bachelor of Arts & Bachelor of Science

* Graduating With Distinction in Earth and Space Sciences

* Graduating	With Distinction in Earth and	1 Space Sciences
Gui Guenther Aksit*	Sawyer James Hindle	Brooke Nicole Parsons
Gabrielle Therese Bugayong Alampay	Elizabeth Jean Horton*	Sarit Tristan Pietersz
Afiqah Binti Amil	Hanwen Hu	Kalpana Venu Prasad*
Simon Anderson	Jina Wang Huang	Benjamin Rush Pratt
Amirul Hakim Arjunamuda	Joel Peter Jacobsen	Haley Alexis Redinger
Hee Yoon Bang	Hanan Aziz Jeddy	Nathan Evan Reinsdorf
Amanda Ann Berger	Emily Claire Johnson	Glico Angelo Rivera
Diana Katherine Bonnarens	Parker Daniel Johnson	Aida Amirah Rusman*
Fred H. Bradley IV*	Joshua Seoungin Kim	Nicole Sarieddine
Emily Nicole Bundick	James Alexander Kohn	Christopher Harry Sayles
Cody Brandon Chaussee	Sharon Annabelle Lade	Hillary Haddan Smith
Jeffrey Aldon Chinn	Wayne Lai	Chao Tang
Boram Choi	Calvin Le	Tengku Harith Ihsan Tengku Feizaludii
John Robert Davis	Bing Yu Lee*	Nicholas Lane Tillotson
Yue Ding	Joshua Hae Soo Lee	Eric To
Bao Tran T. Do	Gang Lei	Travis Xuan Tran
Vanessa Hae Bin Echols	Xinran Li	Jonah Nathanial Tucker
Penny Irene Espinoza	Ping-Chun Lin	Neennara Vajaphattana
Rebeca Espinoza	Drue Kathryn Lindstrom	Eduardo Alberto Valdillez
Daniel Craig Foss	Jenny Liu	Tyler James Valentine*
Carson Ann Goldsmith-Albright*	Ian Bradley Lortz	Haleigh Victoria Vergera
Gabriel Stedman Goncalves	Hans Harrington Martin	Jordan Walter Wang*
Hannah Renee Graham	Phoebe Mayer	Emily Madeleine Wilbur
Jonathan Penington Grimes	Dominic Joseph Minniti	Natalie Elizabeth Wisdom*
Logan Schuyler Guillet	Matthew Wright Mohr	Ziqi Xu*
Austin Thomas Henning	Lani Moon	Linghuan Xue
Beau D. Hepler	Cole Roger Nelson	Jonathan Hong Jin Yang
Lucas Ryan Wysocki Hill	Claudiu Nistor*	Yaoyuan Zhang
Monica R. Hill*	Dominic C. Ongoco	Zheng Zhuang
	-	

The Department would like to thank the ESS faculty, staff, and students who have worked hard to make this special event a success!

