About our Commencement Speaker Michelle Koutnik



Michelle Koutnik earned her Bachelor of Science degree in Astrophysics and Planetary Science at the University of California Los Angeles in 2001. She spent a year at the University of Calgary as a Fulbright Fellow, and had a visiting appointment in Planetary Science at Caltech. Michelle earned her Doctor of Philosophy in Geophysics here at the University of Washington in 2009, writing a dissertation entitled "Inferring Histories of Accumulation Rate, Ice Thickness, and Ice Flow from Internal Layers in Glaciers and Ice Sheets" while holding a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship. After graduation, she was appointed as a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Copenhagen, where she was a National Science Foundation International Research Fellow. She returned to the University of Washington as a Research Assistant Professor in 2013.

Michelle's research has taken her all over the world - Canada, Antarctica, Iceland, Greenland and Switzerland. Her excellence is apparent through her achievements, such as the David Bonderman International Travel Fellowship (2003), the David A. Johnston Memorial Fellowship for Research Excellence (2006), and a National Science Foundation International Research Fellowship (2009-2012) - to name just a few.

She describes her current research: "I am interested in how ice-core history interpreted from ice cores that are on the flank of modern ice divides are affected by upstream conditions such as accumulation gradients, divide migration, and ice thickness changes."

The College of the Environment Honors New Graduates

In appreciation of the 2016 College of the Environment graduating class, the College is partnering with the <u>Campus Sustainability Fund</u> to help fund two CSF projects at the Center for Urban Horticulture: planting pollinator habitats to create suitable habitat for local pollinating insects, and installing a composting toilet to support over 180 student farmers and volunteers and over 500 student visitors annually. Recognizing our students are the next generation of leaders in environmental science and decision-making, we believe this is a contribution that showcases our collective commitment to the sustainability and the well-being of our campus community and our planet.

The University of Washington

Department of Earth and Space Sciences



Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, June 11, 2016
Husky Union Building Lyceum (Room 160)
9:15 AM

Program

Dean's Welcome Professor Lisa Graumlich

Dean, College of the Environment

Chair's Welcome Professor Bruce Nelson

Chair, Earth and Space Sciences

Guest Speaker Michelle Koutnik

Earth and Space Sciences Alumna

A Graduate Student Perspective Dottie Metcalf-Lindenburger

ESS Graduate Student

Presentation of Graduate Certificates Professor Bruce Nelson &

ESS Faculty Members

An Undergraduate Student Perspective Eddy Liu

ESS Undergraduate Student

Undergraduate Slide Show Nicholas Thibault

ESS Undergraduate Student

Presentation of Undergraduate Certificates Professor Gerard Roe

Professor, Earth and Space Sciences

Doctor of Philosophy

Lu Liu

Kristin E. Poinar

David Shean

Master of Science

Amanda Dovinh Ong

Camille M. Collett

Dorothy Metcalf-Lindenburger Amelia C. Oates

Matthew Teich

Chelsey Jo DeWitt

Chad A. Truitt

Christopher G. French

Bart Weitering

Steven C. Kee

Pamela Rae Wichgers

Andrew Christopher Ritchie

Coire P. McCabe

Tait Steven Russell

Bachelor of Arts & Bachelor of Science

* Graduating With Distinction

† Graduating With Bachelor of Arts Degree

Matthew Clark Sorensen †

Garrett Drake Timm

Patrick Tokarz

Paul Alexander Tosello *

Chelsea Nicole Warner †

Jacob Allen Woods

Neng Xiong

Jiarui Zhou

Elie Aboulafia Pristine Rose Kalif Daniel Raymond Aguilar Brandon F Keck Izzati Ahamad Fouzi * Andrew Kimn Charlotte Michelle Ainsworth † Ian Rui Jie Lee * Hannah Dorothy Allen Zi Xian Leong * Eva Alvarado Virginia Heidi Littell * Shiori Laura Baba Eddy J. Liu * Brandon Scott Bentcover Cody Mcclary Mack Linnea Elizabeth McCann * Megan Marie Bergman Dylan Taylor Chase John Paul McGuirk † Bowei Cheng † Brittany Jane McManus Matthew Young-Kwon Chi Katherine Victoria Midkiff Lance Kyle Colley Nikolas Connor Midttun Kevin John Darole † Fasick Teshome Mulugeta

Edward De Souza

Diane Marie Dewilde †

Nhat M. Dinh

Jesse Wayne Evans

Luke Hibbs Fisher *

Frederic D'Mitri Henry

Maryann Georgia Olson Ashly Brook Padgett * Mara Esther Page * Madeline Irelene Gentry Sarah Young Park

Minh Bao Dinh Nguyen

Angela Christine Oberti

Guy Giesa-Wilson * Samantha Miriam Potter Elizabeth Rachel Grant Adam Frosch Richard

John Hamilton * David Joseph Rubin

Madeleine Mary Hummer Erica Lian Sampaga

Brianna Kayleen Hunt * John Bo Shim

The Department would like to thank the ESS faculty, staff, and students who have worked hard to make this special event a success!

Najmi Luqhman Salim

