About our Commencement Speaker

Aaron Wech



Originally from Kansas, Aaron Wech earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Physics and Mathematics at Kansas State University (and philosophy minor...which only comes in handy when listing things like this). Seeking topography following his graduation in 2005, he came to the University of Washington and earned a Doctor of Philosophy from the Earth and Space Sciences program in 2010.

During his time at the UW, he researched topics on subduction zones, earthquake physics, and seismic monitoring, focusing on tectonic processes and seismic hazards in the Pacific Northwest. As part of his studies, Aaron represented the UW in a scientist exchange program to Japan in 2007 and New Zealand in 2008. He was nominated the 2006 Rookie of the Year, and in 2009 received the David A. Johnston Award for Research Excellence. Through his research, he developed a new technique for tracking subtle seismic signals and turned this into a monitoring tool which is currently in use at the Pacific Northwest Seismic Network (PNSN) at UW.

In 2010 Aaron moved to Wellington, New Zealand where he performed research as a New Zealand Earthquake Commission Research Fellow at GNS Science and Victoria University of Wellington. There he enjoyed many reminders of why he studied geophysics (to go outside and do science), participating in projects collecting seismic data from remote field sites across New Zealand.

Aaron became a Mendenhall Postdoctoral Fellow for the US Geological Survey in 2013. This move brought him to his current location at the Alaska Volcano Observatory in Anchorage where he performs field research in the Aleutians, develops seismic monitoring tools, and works on basic and applied research problems in earthquake and volcano science. In addition to Alaska, Aaron still remains actively engaged in monitoring efforts at the PNSN, and his research has ultimately included work in the Pacific Northwest, Alaska, Hawaii, New Zealand, Taiwan, and Japan.

He is married, has a wee baby, and enjoys globetrotting and going outside.

The University of Washington

Department of Earth and Space Sciences



Graduation Ceremony

Saturday, June 13, 2015 Husky Union Building Lyceum (Room 160) 9:15 AM

Program

Professor Lisa Graumlich

Professor Robert Winglee

Aaron Wech

Kelly Hillbun

ESS Graduate Student

ESS Faculty Members

ESS Undergraduate Student

ESS Undergraduate Student

Professor, Earth and Space Sciences

Professor Gerard Roe

Nikolas Midttun

Eddy Liu

Chair, Earth and Space Sciences

Earth and Space Sciences Alumnus

Professor Robert Winglee &

Dean, College of the Environment

Dean's Welcome

Chair's Welcome

Guest Speaker

A Graduate Student Perspective

Presentation of Graduate Certificates

An Undergraduate Student Perspective

Undergraduate Slide Show

Presentation of Undergraduate Certificates

Doctor of Philosophy

Adam Campbell Regina Catharine Carns Derya I. Dilmen Kelly N. Hillbun Spruce W. Schoenemann Justin R. Sweet

Master of Science

Rebekah D. Cesmat
Evelyn Conrado
Jesse G. Favia
John Fullmer
Katherine Anne Garon
Katie Marie Gauglitz
Andrew M. Gault

Brian William Holmes Peter Carothers LeDoux John Ansley Manke Hannah E. Marshburn Kendra L. Pivaroff-Ward Megan L. Smith Andrew R. Spickert Kristina Kaylynn Sumner Jeffrey Tinklepaugh Niall Conrad Twomey Barbara L. Walker Jennifer M. Wilson

Bachelor of Arts & Bachelor of Science

* Graduating With Distinction

† Graduating With Bachelor of Arts Degree

Elie Aboulafia Daniel Raymond Aguilar Wan Hidaya Zuhri Binti Ahmad Zohri Joel EdwinAtwood Gina Marie Bailey† Chloe Nicole Bartlett Sebastian Aldo Desveaux Belfanti* Heather Dawn Bervid Michael John Biermann Christopher Michael Bitting Peter Albert Bowman Christopher Thomas Brickert Justin Lee Brooks* Junyi Cao† Eduardo Chavez Catherine Anne Clerf Lance Kyle Colley Catherine Hollis Cook Mariah Lauren Danner Chelsey Jo DeWitt Ravneet Singh Dhaliwal Jacqueline Anne Divita Terry Jeffrey Dunn Alice Irene Espada Erica Jane Faber Adam Thomas Fermstad⁺

Aaron Russell Fikar Shea Alanna Fitzmorris Kelsey Anne Florence† Madeline Irelene Gentry* Connor John Gibson Nate Curry Goodman Sean Michal Greenside Joshua Shane Greer Sondra KayHenderson† Julia Ann Heydenreich Austin Joseph Higuera Lucas Galen Holloway Alexander Christopher Hurd Amirul Fatih Japri Kyler Takeshi Kelly Taylor Robert Kenyon Joseph Inkook Kim Alex Kaleikoaonuuanu Kover Nicholas Roger Krebs Keelin Celeste Lacey Derek Michael Larson Huy Dong Lieu Timothy Keen Liu Jose Lopez⁺ Sean Lorimor Daniel Richard Loudon

Daniel Christopher Maben Devin Alexis Maloney* William Gregory Medwedeff Carlos Misael Mendoza Garrett Kevin Mercier Nikolas Connor Midttun* James Harry Miller III Karl Eugene Mitchell III Margot Dianne Nelson* Vishal Nitin Parikh Matthew James Payne Aaron Thomas Reding Adam Frosch Richard Noemi Binti Ridzuan Rebecca Lynn Roth Adrienne M. Scott Morgan Leigh Shusterman Michael Alexander Smith Rebecca Diane Smith Jared Christopher Tess Garrett Drake Timm Paul Alexander Tosello Patrick Raul Watts Zoelle Alexandra Whisler Susan Marie Wisehart* Florence Sook Kuan Yuen*

The Department would like to thank the ESS faculty, staff, and students who have worked hard to make this special event a success!

 \sim Reception to Follow \sim