About our Guest Speaker Margaret Rusmore



Margaret Rusmore has enjoyed being a professor at Occidental College since she earned her Ph.D. in Structure and Tectonics at the University of Washington in 1985. She also received her Masters degree at the University of Washington in 1982, and her B.Sc. in Earth Sciences at the University of Santa Cruz in 1980. Margaret's field of study, the evolution of mountain belts, has allowed her to combine her academic interests with her life-long love of mountaineering. Most of her research has focused on the structural, tectonic, and landscape development of the Coast Mountain of British Columbia. Her current research addresses the formation of continental crust in magmatic arcs, as part of the NSF-funded "Batholiths" project. Her work in the Coast Mountains has allowed her to introduce many students to the pleasures of field work in this remote range. Through her classes, Margaret has developed an appreciation of the intriguing geology of the Mojave Desert and the San Andreas transform margin.

Margaret is a fellow of the Geological Society of America, an Associate Editor for *Tectonics*, and has served on the editorial board of *Geology*, the Structure and Tectonics panel at the NSF, and Career Achievement Award Committee of the Geological Society of America. She was also the Vice President and President of the Cordilleran Section of the GSA.

The University of Washington

Department of Earth and Space Sciences



Graduation Celebration
June 13, 2009
Johnson Hall, Room 102
10:00 a.m.

Program

Welcome - Professor Robert Winglee, Chair

Guest Speaker – Professor Margaret Rusmore, Alumna

A Faculty Perspective – Professor Gerard Roe

A Graduate Student Perspective - Daniel Morgan

Presentation of Graduate Certificates
Professor Ed Waddington

An Undergraduate Student Perspective - Peter Neff

Presentation of Undergraduate Certificates
Professor Jody Bourgeois

Doctor of Philosophy

Brian Collins

Andrew Ganse

Joshua Jones

Michael Kokorowski

Michelle Koutnik

Daniel Morgan

Emily Mullen

Eliza Nemser

Philipp Ruprecht

Weston Thelen

Master of Science

David ArgentoJoseph FlahertyAurora BurdThomas KennellThomas CarpenterDonovan PowerChristina DwyerHeather Rogers

Bachelor of Science

Janet BautistaJenny NeronaJohnny Bruce (Environmental)Stephen NewmanSuzanne CruchonColin O'Rourke (Physics)

Ryan Erickson (Biology)* John Perreault

Charles Fitzsimmons Zachary Ploskey (Environmental)*

Marcus Green GladdenRobert PretlowColin Haley (Environmental)Nichole Ramsey

Joshua Jackson (Environmental) Molly Ravits (Environmental) Katherine Jung Paul Richardson (Biology)*

David Kiehl* Scott Robinson
Cody Kimball Kyle Samek (Biology)
Joshua Litt Valerie Shuman

Christopher Maffucci (Environmental) Marijana Surkovic (Environmental)*

Margot MansfieldLucy WalshSean McNeilRyan White

Peter Neff (Environmental)*

Bachelor of Arts

Eric Meuli Geoffrey Simpson

The Department would like to thank the following students for helping to make this a very special event: Janet Bautista for the slide show, and Katherine Ou, Peter Polivka, and Rebecca Teel for assisting with decorations and set-up.

*graduating with distinction
Reception to follow in the foyer of Room 102
* Johnson Hall Courtyard if weather permits *