## MINUTES

## Call to Order - Meeting of the Faculty in Open Session

Department Chair Bruce Nelson called the meeting to order at 2:35pm.

## • Approval of Meeting Minutes

- The **December 1, 2017** Faculty Meeting Minutes were circulated and approved.
- Announcements
  - Good News Items:
    - ESS Alumnus Isaac Larsen received the 2017 Luna B. Leopold Young Scientist Award. This is the second year the department is represented: in 2016 Assistant Professor Alison Duvall won the Leopold Award. This is two wins in a row!
    - The next Diversity and Equity Discussion will be on January 11 at 10:30 in ATG 154. The topic will be 'Developing a bystander's guide to stopping sexist speech in the sciences.'
  - Michelle Barr has joined us full-time at the Front Desk. She has an MS in geology from U. Utah and most recently worked in the oil industry in Texas.
  - Prospective Graduate Student Open House will be held February 21-23, 2018. The all-ESS dinner will be held on Wednesday night at the UW Club. Please reserve this time.
  - Dean Graumlich will present her state of the college address to ESS at the beginning of the faculty meeting on February 2, 2018 starting at 2:30. This part of the faculty meeting will be open to all faculty, staff and students. Discussion with the Dean will follow her presentation. [this has been canceled since the 1.5.18 faculty meeting]
  - Call for nominations for the Mindlin Lecture, Autumn 2018. Invites need to go out in the Spring. Please coordinate your suggestions with Bob Holzworth.
  - It is time for our biennial all-department Title IX and Green Dot training with Valery Richardson (Deputy Title IX Coordinator) and Kiana Swearingen (SafeCampus Training and Communications Specialist). Please plan to attend this training on Tuesday, March 6, from 3:30-5:00 in JHN 102. This is a REQUIRED TRAINING for everyone in the department.
  - Adjunct and Affiliate faculty reappointments will be discussed and voted on at the February 2 Faculty Meeting.
  - Important upcoming dates in the process for hiring the next PNSN Director and the Subduction Zone faculty position were outlined. An e-mail summarizing will follow.
  - Other Announcements.
- Reports and Business
  - **Curriculum** (Teng) Nothing to report.
  - Undergraduate Program (Roe) Nothing to report.
  - Graduate Program (Creager) Nothing to report.
- Standing Committees
  - Admissions (Buick) Admissions deadline is today (1/5/18). We currently have 116 applications in for the graduate program. We expect that number to double by midnight.

Reviews will begin January 8 because CoENV scholarship deadlines are earlier this year. All admission decisions need to be done by the end of January.

- **Computing** (Walters) Nothing to report.
- **MESSAGe** (Crider) Nothing to report.
- **Oversight** (Bergantz/McCarthy) Nothing to report.
- **Prelim** (Gorman-Lewis/Stone) Nothing to report.
- **Promotion, Reappointment & Merit** (Holzworth/Waddington) Nothing to report.
- Scholarships, Fellowships, and Awards (Stone) Nothing to report.
- College Council Representation (Bergantz) Brief update: the College Council met with Provost Baldasty regarding salary gaps. The provost indicated that there was no new money available to address this.
- Old Business
- New Business
  - Benefits and Costs of department visitors. While we pride ourselves on our vibrant research community and welcome academic visitors from around the world, it should be noted that there is a real financial cost to hosting these visitors. Each visa which needs to be processed costs the department \$213 in fees plus staff processing time. Renewals are \$45. Expedited handling at the federal level rises to \$1250. The department will pay for the visa processing and renewals to encourage a steady flux of international visitors. Costs for expedited handling will be borne by the faculty host/PI. Processing time at the university and federal level have increased significantly, so plan well in advance.
- Adjourn to Executive Session 3:06pm.

## Minutes by Scott Dakins

Attendees: Faculty – Abramson, Bergantz, Bodin, Brown, Buick, Christianson, Creager, Fudge, Gorman-Lewis, Hallet, Harnett, Holzworth, Koutnik, Licht, Montgomery, Nelson, Nittrouer, Roe, Schmidt, Steig, Teng, Walters, Winebrenner, Winglee.

Staff, Students and Guests – Barr, Benson, Bernard-Kingsley, Bernhardt, Dakins, Gomberg, Kelson, Ludwig, Northway